Type to search

Karnataka By-Elections: Voting For Lok Sabha, Assembly Polls Begin

National News POLITICS

Karnataka By-Elections: Voting For Lok Sabha, Assembly Polls Begin

admin1 November 3, 2018

The three-member Lok Sabha and Karnataka’s two-phase polling process began on Saturday morning. Bellary, Shimoga, Mandya Lok Sabha seats, Ramanagar and Jamakhandi assembly constituencies are underway. 6,450 polling stations have been set up for voting in these constituencies. A total of 54,54,275 voters will use their voting rights. The polling is to be held till 6pm. Counting of votes will take place on 6th of this month. The Congress-JDS alliance has come together in all the seats. Congress candidates are in the fray for JDS, Bellary MP and Jamakandi assembly seats to replace Mandya, Shimoga, Parliament and Ramanagar Assembly.

Sreeramulu, a BJP leader from Bellary Parliamentary seat, resigned as MP as the MLA in the last assembly elections. This means the sub-election is inevitable. The JDS candidate and Chief Minister Kumaraswamy’s wife Anita Kumaraswamy is set to win the Ramanagar BJP candidate from the contest. The BJP candidate El Chandrashekhar, who was in the fray from the seat, joined the BJP two days ago.

Competition is also common in Jamakhandi. Shivamogga was heavily shifted to the police .. In Bellary, no checks were issued from Andhra Pradesh. The state BJP leaders have asked the Election Commissioner to postpone the elections in Ramanagar. They alleged that their candidate Chandrasekhar was enthusiastic and withdrew from the competition. In their complaint, the election has been unilaterally changed and postponed. The sixth month after the formation of the Congress-JDS government, the ruling alliance is expected to win this by-election.

Translate »